Home News Governor Ihedioha Inaugurates Committee For The Review Of Appointments And Recruitments

Governor Ihedioha Inaugurates Committee For The Review Of Appointments And Recruitments


Governor Emeka Ihedioha of Imo State has inaugurated a committee for the review of appointments and recruitments in the State’s Civil Service.
The step according to the governnent was in line with the Resolution of the Imo State House of Assembly, urging the Governor to review activities in the State’s Civil Service.
While inaugurating the seven-man committee at Sam Mbakwe Executive Council Chambers, Government House Owerri, the Governor who was represented by the Secretary to the State Government, Hon. Uche Onyeagucha, noted that it had become necessary to review and evaluate appointments that were made without due proces and applying the public service rules and regulations.
In his words, “this assignment is very critical and the intention is never to witch-hunt anybody and that is why we have assembled tested technocrats with integrity and track record of accomplishments in the service”.
He charged them to ensure that they discharge their responsibilities with all sense of patriotism.
Responding on behalf of the members, the chairman of the committee, Mr. Okey Anyanwu, thanked the Governor for finding them worthy for the assignment, noting that the committee members were people of impeccable character who had the knowledge, experience and courage to carry out their responsibilities.
The committee is expected to evaluate the recent appointments of Head of Service, Permanent Secretaries, Solicitor-General, Accountant General and heads of ministerial departments.
They are also expected to review all staff recruitments, promotions, transfers and secondments of officers done without following the due process from 2015 to date.
The Committee shall also review all extension of service period of retired officers and contract appointments and investigate cases of unduly suspended or retired officers from 2015 to date.
Other members of the committee include; Mr. Chukwuma Nwachukwu, Mrs. Ngozi Onyirioha, Mr. Chima Nmeregini, Mr. Bismark Eziriohu, Mr. Justin Amafili, Mr. Donatus One.
Present at the inauguration were – Barr. Chris Okewulonu, Chief of Staff, Government House, Mrs Ngozi Eluwa, Head of Service, Engr. Charles Ugwu, Chief Innocent Nworga, Hon. Oliver Enwerenem, Dr. Sunny Ogulewe, Barr Austin Otuokere, Surv. Steve Onu, some serving and retired permanent secretaries.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here