Home Features Inauguration of Imo PDP Campaign Council: Hope Rises For Victory In 2019...

Inauguration of Imo PDP Campaign Council: Hope Rises For Victory In 2019 Election


By Ogu Bundu Nwadike

Thursday, January 10, 2019 was a memorable day for leaders and members of Imo PDP. It was the day the party formally inaugurated its expanded Campaign Council and 24 Sub-committees, boasting of over 1000 members.

The large size of the Campaign Council and the supportive sub-committees significantly made a statement about the robust leadership and membership profile of the current PDP in Imo State. Also, that the Campaign Council spells the who-is-who in Imo PDP is a good indication that unlike in the past, the Imo PDP is entering the election in few weeks as a very united family.

For instance, the Campaign Council comprised national, State and LGA officers of the party, past and present; past governors and deputy governors. We are talking of Chief Barr. Charles Babatunde Ezekwem as Chairman and Nze Ray Emeaña as Secretary. Also in the Council  are His Excellency, Rt. Hon. Emeka Ihedioha, CON, KSC; Hon. Gerald Irona, Chief Dr. Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu, Chief Achike Udenwa, Chief Ebere Udeagu, Dr. Douglas Acholonu, Amb. Dr. Mrs. Kema Chikwe and a host of other very important personalities.

All the current members of the National Assembly including Senator Samuel Anyanwu, Hon. Jones Onyereri, Hon. Ezenwa Onyewuchi, Hon. Bede  Eke, Jerry Alagbaoso, Hon. Henry Nwawuba, and Hon. Obinna Onwubuariri are members of the Council.

All of the candidates of the party in the 2019 general elections for the Federal House of Representatives and State House of Assembly are members of the Council.

The 24 Sub-committees includes the *Finance Subcommittee* with Hon. Chief Nick Okparandu as Chairman; *Women Mobilization* Subcommittee with Mrs. Maria Mbakwe as Chairman and Mrs. Promise Njoku as Secretary; *Youth Mobilization Subcommittee* with Williams Ahanonu (State Youth Leader) as Chairman and Barr. Uche Alisigwe as Secretary; *Students Mobilization Subcommittee* with Mr. Rex Okoro as Chairman; *Campaign Security Subcommittee* with Chief Bonny Ebili as Chairman.

Others are the *Research, Planning and Strategy Subcommittee* with Barr. Chijioke Nzekwe as Chairman and Prof. Sam Onyekuru as Secretary; *Trade and Allied Groups Subcommittee* with Hon. Ken Anaeme as Chairman and Barr. Mrs. Nkeiru Ibekwe as Secretary; *Pensioners/Civil Servants/Trade Unions Subcommittee* with Sir Josiah Eze as Chairman and Dr. Emeka Onyema as Secretary; *Legal Subcommittee* with Chief Mike Ahamba SAN as Chairman and Barr. Jerry Egemba as Secretary; *Roadshow Subcommittee* with Chinedu Chukwuonye as Chairman and Engr. Tony Okoro as Secretary; *Non-Indigenes and Related Groups Subcommittee* with Chief Eddy Asiegbu as Chairman and Uche Ekpe as Secretary.

The sub-committees also include the *Volunteer/Support Groups Subcommittee* with Capt. Henry Omeogu as Chairman and Engr. Kingsley Onwubiko as Secretary; *Town Unions/Socio-Cultural Associations Subcommittee* with Chief Marshall Okoroafor as Chairman and Uche Bana as Secretary; *Welfare Subcommittee* with Lady Ngozi Oguike as Chairman and Mrs. Promise Njoku as Secretary; *General Mobilization Subcommittee* with Chief Damian Ezeagu as Chairman and Paul Oguejiofor as Secretary; *Religious Affairs Subcommittee* with Prof. Jude Njoku as Chairman and Rostand Amadi as Secretary.

Others are the *Medical Subcommittee* with Dr. Peter Ukaigwe as Chairman and Dr. Chigozie Ekeozo as Secretary; *Media Subcommittee* with Chief Emeka Omeihe as Chairman and Mr. Henry Ekpe as Secretary; *Field Operations and Logistics Subcommittee* with Hon. Uche Onyeaguocha as Chairman and Chief Odessy Onyia as Secretary; *Enlightenment Subcommittee* with Hon. Jasper Ndubuaku as Chairman and Janana Biadu as Secretary; *Special Project Subcommittee* with Prof. Viola Onwuliri as Chairman and Barr. Julius Onyenucheya as Secretary; *Campaign Secretariat Subcommittee* with Dr. Vin Udokwu as Director General and Hon. Nze Ray Emeaña as Secretary; *Diaspora Subcommittee* with Sir Martin Ejiogu as Chairman and Dr. Uche Anyanwu as Secretary.

The Campaign Council has also been inaugurated in all of the 27 LGAs of Imo State. Their Chairmen include Barr. P.G.U Madu for Ahiazu Mbaise; Hon. Alex Emeziem for Aboh Mbaise; Air Commodore Luke Ochulor for Ezinihitte Mbaise; Chief Emma Nworgu for Ngor Okpala; Engr. Emeka Chukwueke for Owerri North; Hon. Chief Henry Onwukwe for Owerri West; Hon. Ifeanyi Unagha for Owerri Municipal; Engr. Sylvester Amah for Mbaitoli; Hon. Paschal Uzoh for Ikeduru; Chief Chika Okafor for Obowo; Hon. Collins Nwachukwu for Ihitte Uboma; Engr. Ben Nwaluka for Ehime Mbano; Chief Don Egwim for Isiala Mbano and Chief Chidi Dike for Onuimo.

Other LGA Campaign Council chairmen are Barr. Modestus Nwokoro for Okigwe; Engr. Ken Ebubeogu for Nwangele; Chief Felix Ibewuike for Isu; Chief John Agbasi for Njaba; Chief Chinemere Iheaku for Ideato North; Chief Tony Anyaegbu for Ideato South; Chief Leonard Chukwudi Eze for Orlu; Dr. Ben Odimegwu for Orsu; Chief Romanus Nnaoma; Chief Fab Ogbonna for Oru West; Hon. Chief Tony Okere for Ohaji-Egbema; and Hon. Chief Sydney Uneanya for Oguta LGA.

As hinted earlier, the Imo PDP Campaign Council and its sub-committees have over 1000 personalities. Listing them in short essay as this will be unnecessary. But let it suffice to say that the Council and sub-committees boasts of the who-is-who in Imo politics. 

That beautiful situation has more than ever before positioned Imo PDP to prepare very well to do exploits in the election. The development has made PDP truly present everywhere you go in Imo State.

This is even as the summary of the plank and thrust of the campaign is for all committees to move out of the city and head to the rural areas for direct contact with the electorates most of whom are based in the rural communities.

There is no doubt that as the party kicks off its campaign rallies on Monday, January 14, 2019, their sight of Douglas House gets clearer. One would only wish PDP a resounding victory at all levels in the general elections that will come up on February 16 and March 2, 2019.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here