Home Economy Senate Reconstitutes Minimum Wage Committee

Senate Reconstitutes Minimum Wage Committee


The Senate on Tuesday appointed Senate Deputy Majority Whip, Senator Francis Alimikhena, as Acting Chairman of the Adhoc Committee on Minimum Wage.
The President of the Senate, Dr. Bukola Saraki, who made the announcement at plenary on Tuesday, said Alimikhena would work in acting capacity while the Chairman, Sen. Olusola Adeyeye, was away on health grounds.
Saraki charged the committee to expedite action on the matter to enable the Senate to be able to catch up with the House of Representatives which had already passed the bill through third reading.
The Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu, had on January 24, appointed the Chief Whip of the Senate, Olusola Adeyeye, as Chairman of an eight-member ad-hoc committee mandated to work on the minimum wage bill.
The members of the adhoc committee are: Senator Abu Ibrahim; Senator Shehu Sani and Senator Sam Egwu.
Others are: Senator Suleiman Adokwe; Senator Francis Alimikhena; Senator Solomon Adeola and Binta Garba.
The House of Representatives had on January 29 approved N30,000 as minimum wage for workers in the public and private sectors.
The lower chamber increased the threshold for public and private sectors workers in states and local governments from N27,000 as proposed in the National Minimum Wage Act Amendment Bill to N30,000.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here